Monday, March 12, 2018

Just A Wee Trip

Off to the Edinburgh Yarn Festival.  See you in a few weeks!

Saturday, March 10, 2018


Friday, March 9, 2018

Quote of the Day

The wanton troopers, riding by
Have shot my fawn and it must die.
Ungentle men!  They cannot thrive 
To kill thee. ~ Andrew Marvell

Saturday, March 3, 2018

It Is A Truth Universally Acknowledged

That if you want decent coffee in a Red Cross DRO, you have to make it yourself.

Thursday, March 1, 2018

Just Trying To Be Helpful

Therapist:  The idea is to do this movement quite sharply, to jar the crystals loose.

Me:  I can think of any number of people who would love to smack me one up side the head.

Therapist (unperturbed): Your head still has to be in the proper position for that to work.

Monday, February 26, 2018

Saturday, February 24, 2018


Friday, February 23, 2018

Quote Of The Day

map from

Maps are a way of organizing wonder. ~ Peter Steinhart

Thursday, February 22, 2018


Who says cops don't have a sense of humor.

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Knitting - A Patterned "Blouse" from 1951

to heck with the top, I want that hat

A knitted dressy top from Smart Knitting, Vol 8 (1951). The photo and two pages of instructions are on my Flickr account.

Monday, February 19, 2018

Vintage Posters - Home Front

Some vintage poster patriotism in honor of President's Day.  Copyright-free, from Dover.

Saturday, February 17, 2018


Friday, February 16, 2018

Quote Of The Day

image from Wikipedia

I will not be lectured about what our military needs by a five-deferment draft dodger. ~ LtCol Tammy Duckworth

Thursday, February 15, 2018

In My Day It Was Called Home Economics

Peasant Woman Threading a Needle by
Jules Adolphe Aime Louis Breton


Tuesday, February 13, 2018

Paper Crafts - A Pooch for the Year of the Dog

Xinnian Keui Lo! And Canon again comes up with a cute paper project to celebrate.

Monday, February 12, 2018

Vintage Holidays - Valentine's Day

Some vintage Valentine clipart from Dover Publications.

Friday, February 9, 2018

Quote Of The Day

Last Absolution of the Munsters, by Fortunino Matania

In 1930, John Brophy and Eric Partridge published a collection of British songs and slang from the war.  They claimed that soldiers used the word 'fucking' so often that it was merely a warning 'that a noun is coming.' In a normal situation, swear words are used for emphasis, but Brophy and Partridge found that obscenity was so over-used among the military in the Great War that if a soldier wanted to express emotion he wouldn't swear.  'Thus, if a sergeant said, "Get your --ing rifles!" it was understood as a matter of routine.  But if he said "Get your rifles!" there was an immediate implication of urgency and danger.' ~ Bee Wilson

Thursday, February 8, 2018


This has been all over the Internet - to me, the best part is listening to his wife trying not to laugh as she films it.